Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


Nigeria crowned champs

11 February 2013, 09:00

Related Stories

Johannesburg - Sunday Mba struck with a left-footed volley in the first half as Nigeria beat Burkina Faso 1-0 at the National Stadium on Sunday to end a 19-year Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) trophy drought.

The Super Eagles, playing in the tournament finale for the seventh time, had the better chances throughout. They were rewarded when Mba scored in the 40th minute, and held on to secure their third continental crown, and their first since 1994.

The result ended a dream run from the Berkinabe, who reached the semi-finals for only the second time in their history, before edging Ghana on penalties to book their place in the gold medal match.

VIDEO: Nigeria v Burkina Faso, highlights

Victor Moses made a return from injury straight into the Super Eagles' starting line-up, while Emmanuel Emenike did not recover from injury in time for the match and was replaced by Ikechukwu Uche.

Burkina Faso were relieved to have the services of Jonathan Pitroipa after his semi-final red card was rescinded, and they retained an unchanged run-on side.

Nigeria held on to the ball from the first whistle and Brown Ideye made a run down the middle, releasing Eric Ambrose, but his shot from in the box was directed straight at goalkeeper Daouda Diakite.

An eighth minute free kick from Moses found the head of Efe Ambrose but the shot was off target.

From the ensuing corner, Moses went long and the ball was headed towards goal, without Diakite able to gather, but Ideye sent his strike sailing just over the bar.

Burkina Faso were nearly dealt a cruel blow through some careless defending in the 19th minute. A poor backheel by defender Paul Koulibaly on the edge of area gifted Nigeria the ball. Ideye ran sideways as the Burkinabe defence moved in to cover and Nigeria could not manage a shot.

A minute later, Moses probed again as he ran down the left, but he reeled off an average shot which was gathered by Diakite.

The first shot for the Burkinabe came in the 25th minute when Aristide Bance went for goal, but his long range effort was well over target.

Bance was involved again three minutes later, on this occasion with a free kick from 30m out. He went for a low shot left of the wall but was wide.

After a bustling move down the centre shortly before the break, Mba gathered a loose ball in the box, turned past a defender and had no problem finding the back of the net to give Nigeria the lead.

Three minutes after the interval, Ideye took a shot from an acute angle which had the beating of Diakite, but the ball bounced centimetres wide.

A 55th minute counter-attack by Nigeria allowed Moses to run unhindered toward the opposition area, but he took too long to shoot and a defender was able to partially block the shot.

Just before the hour mark, Bance flicked on with a header from a free-kick but Vincent Enyeama was able to collect the ball comfortably.

Wilfried Sanou came close to levelling the scores in the 74th minute, but his powerful shot was directed just past the far post from close range.

Nigeria coach Stephen Keshi became only the second player to win the AFCON title as a player and a coach.

List of Africa Cup of Nations champions:

1957: Egypt

1959: Egypt

1962: Ethiopia

1963: Ghana

1965: Ghana

1968: Zaire

1970: Sudan

1972: Congo Brazzaville

1974: Zaire

1976: Morocco

1978: Ghana

1980: Nigeria

1982: Ghana

1984: Cameroon

1986: Egypt

1988: Cameroon

1990: Algeria

1992: Ivory Coast

1994: Nigeria

1996: South Africa

1998: Egypt

2000: Cameroon

2002: Cameroon

2004: Tunisia

2006: Egypt

2008: Egypt

2010: Egypt

2012: Zambia

2013: Nigeria


7: Egypt

4: Cameroon, Ghana

3: Nigeria

2: Zaire

1: Algeria, Congo Brazzaville, Ethiopia, Ivory Coast, Morocco, South Africa, Sudan, Tunisia, Zambia

Note: Zaire renamed Democratic Republic of Congo


Matic: This was the real Chelsea

24 October 2016, 21:02

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Read more from our Users

Submitted by
Shakila Alivitsa
4 ways to handle your cheating ma...

He is cheating. How do you handle him?

Submitted by
Shakila Alivitsa
Why do men choose second wives?

Why do men choose to have second wives?

Submitted by
Eugene Odanga
Wizkid set for twin Kenyan shows

Wizkid is back in Kenya. For two shows.

Submitted by
Eugene Odanga
Udada women's festival begins in ...

The Udada women's festival has arrived in Nairobi.

Submitted by
Uhuru pardons 2747 death row conv...

President Uhuru Kenyatta has pardoned a number of death row convicts, sending them to life sentences instead. Read more...

Submitted by
Eugene Odanga
WATCH: Kaka Sungura arrested in t...

Was Kaka Sungura arrested in town?