Did Rooney dive?
17 February 2015, 12:05
Cape Town - Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney's 87th minute penalty was met with mixed reactions from two leading footballing brains after the match.
With the fifth round FA Cup fixture delicately poised at 2-1 to the Red Devils and just a handful of minutes remaining, Rooney went down in the area under the clumsy challenge of Preston North End's goalkeeper Thorston Stuckmann.
Rooney rose to his feet and confidently struck home the penalty to hand his side a 3-1 win and a place in the last 8 of FA Cup.
Wayne Rooney conned the ref into awarding United a penalty against Preston, tweeted Matt Le Tissier.
The former Southampton star midfielder confidently tweeted his views on the incident, slamming Rooney's conduct.
Le Tissier's tweet:
Roy Hodgson, the national team coach of England, completely disagreed with the views of Le Tissier and those who believed that Rooney did anything sinister to earn the penalty.
Rooney's national team coach Roy Hodgson told the press after the match that Rooney did not dive and went to ground legitimately.
"It's not a dive for me, I think Rooney was just taking evasive action there," said Hodgson.
"If you're refereeing the game in the run of play, without all the replays we've now seen, I don't think anybody would have said that's not a penalty.
"The goalkeeper's come out very rashly, gone in with both feet, and Wayne's touched the ball past him."
The issue of simulation or player's diving to "win" a penalty has long left a black mark on this area of the beautiful game and it appears this latest incident involving one of England's most high-profile players will again bring diving into the spotlight.
Here is a clip of the incident: -