Cech happy with sneaky goal
21 October 2013, 11:26
London - Chelsea goalkeeper Petr Cech claims referee Anthony Taylor was right not to rule out Eden Hazard's controversial equaliser in the London club's 4-1 win over Cardiff City.
With the hosts trailing 1-0 in Saturday's Premier League game at Stamford Bridge, Chelsea striker Samuel Eto'o stole possession from Cardiff goalkeeper David Marshall as he bounced the ball, enabling Hazard to score.
The laws of the game state that a goalkeeper is deemed to be in control of the ball when he bounces it, meaning that the goal should not have stood.
Cardiff manager Malky Mackay expressed his disappointment with the decision after the game, accusing Taylor of a "horrendous error", but Cech felt it was not a clear-cut situation.
"It's always a difficult question, when you lose control or don't lose control," said Cech, who made his 300th league appearance in the game.
"What I know is that if you throw the ball to kick it out, nobody can touch you because it counts as one motion.
"In terms of bouncing, it's not one motion, so it's totally up to the referee to decide whether the goalkeeper had control of the ball or not.
"The referee had the perfect view of it, he was very close and he decided to give it.
"In this case you have to go with the referee.
"It's an unusual situation, but as long as the referee is happy with it, the goal is in."