Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


Safaricom sevens series kicks off this weekend

31 July 2014, 12:05

Nairobi - This year’s Safaricom Sevens Series kicks off with the first tournament, the Safaricom Kabeberi Sevens that takes place at the Nairobi Railway Club on 2/3 August 2014.

The Kabeberi Sevens is hosted by Mwamba RFC , Kenya's first club formed by indigenous Africans in 1977.The George Mwangi Kabeberi Memorial Sevens was originally held in honour of former Mwamba RFC player George Mwangi Kabeberi who died in 1986. The tournament organizers have in recent times used the tournament to honor its fallen heroes, former players who played for the club such as Leeroy Okara, Absalom “Bimbo” Mutere, Jimmy “Green” Owino and Abedeen Shikhoyi. Mwamba RFC have in recent years established themselves as a sevens powerhouse, indeed  producing leading lights for the Kenya Sevens team in Collins Injera, Lavin Asego Humphrey Kayange,Mike Agevi, Danny Sikuta and Horace Otieno


The KRU National  Sevens Series, known officially as the Safaricom Sevens Series since the 2013 season through sponsorship from leading integrated communications provider Safaricom,  an annual series of local rugby sevens’ tournaments run by the Kenya Rugby Union featuring local club sevens teams.

The series was organized for the first time in 1999 and has played a big role in growing the game locally while also unearthing talent that has gone on to feature for the various Kenyan men’s representative teams over the years. Teams compete for the National Sevens Series title by accumulating points based on their finishing position in each tournament. The series currently consists of five tournaments played in four Kenyan cities namely Nairobi, Nakuru, Mombasa and Kisumu. These tournaments culminate in the Safaricom Sevens, an international tournament hosted in Nairobi every year since 1996.

2014 Safaricom Sevens Series dates

2/3 August – Kabeberi Sevens, Nairobi

9/10 August – Dala Sevens – Kisumu

23/24 August – Driftwood Sevens – Mombasa

30/31 August – Prinsloo Sevens – Nakuru

6/7 September – Christie Sevens – Nairobi

26-28 September – Safaricom Sevens - Nairobi

For the latest on national news, politics, sport, entertainment and more follow us on Twitter and like our Facebook page!

- News24


WRAP: English Premiership

23 October 2016, 09:33

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Read more from our Users

Submitted by
Wilon Ochieng
Labour Party to dump both Jubilee...

The Labour Party of Kenya is likely to avoid supportoing both the CORD and Jubilee factions during the 2017 General Elections. Read more...

Submitted by
William Korir
Ukambani MP quits Jubilee, to run...

An Ukambani MP has quit the Jubilee Party, citing voter apathy as his reason behind leaving the ruling coalition. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Government launches probe into Po...

The government has launched an inquiry into the circumstances that could have led to two National Police Service helicopter accidents in August and September this year. Read more...

Submitted by
Wilwon Ochieng
Deputy Governor's ally found with...

The EACC has recovered KES 2 million in fake currency from a close ally of Deputy Governor for Tharaka Nithi Eliud Mati. Read more...

Submitted by
William Korir
Mudavadi given permission to join...

Musalia Mudavadi has been ghranted permission by his party to join the CORD Coalition. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
EACC officers raid Deputy Governo...

EACC officers raided the home of a Deputy Governor as theft case continues in court. Read more...