Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


Safaricom boosts SOYA sponsorship

01 October 2013, 15:20

Nairobi - Leading integrated communications services provider, Safaricom, has announced a KES 12 million (US$140 000) investment for this year’s title sponsorship for the annual Sportsman of the Year Awards (SOYA).

Safaricom’s Marketing Director, Rita Okuthe, said on the 10th anniversary of these awards, the company intended to raise the profile of this calendar event.

 “The news of the breaking of the world’s coverage of the performance of the Berlin Marathon over the weekend was very welcome coming after a gloomy week. Such is the positive impact that sportsmen and women have had and Safaricom is proud to play a role in appreciating and encouraging them,” she added.

SOYA Founder and Chairman, Paul Tergat, thanked Safaricom for supporting sports development over the years. The company has invested in the ongoing Safaricom Athletics Series, the recently concluded Safaricom Rugby Series, and has continued sponsoring various sporting properties and supporting national teams thereby attesting to the commitment towards sports.

“With Safaricom’s support, the event has become the premier sports awards event and besides the glamour, our top athletes get to be appreciated at home for the work they put into their various disciplines and I am very proud of that,” said Tergat.

Scheduled for December 6, the SOYA will also coincide with Kenya celebrating its 50th anniversary since gaining independence.

All past winners are expected to grace the event. Past SOYA winners include Olympic Champion and world record holder David Rudisha who was crowned last year’s overall winner as well as Richard Matelong, Vivian Cheruiyot, Nancy Langat, Ulinzi and Gor Mahia Football Clubs.

– CAJ News


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Read more from our Users

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Raila ungrateful for my help, MP ...

An MP says that he made ODM famous in Meru and has accused the party of ungratefulness despite his hard work. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
I'm ready for by-election today, ...

I'm ready for a by election, an angry ODM rebel MP tells Raila Odinga. Read more...

Submitted by
William Korir
ODM kicks 6 MPs out of Parliament...

ODM has kicked 6 rebel members out of house committees. Read more...

Submitted by
William Korir
Karua now headed to Jubilee?

Is Martha Karua now headed to the Jubilee Coalition? Read more...

Submitted by
William Korir
Kenneth defends move to support U...

Peter Kenneth says that moving to support President Uhuru Kenyatta and the Jubilee Party is his democratic choice. Read more...

Submitted by
S Mbinya
How to keep her interested

It is not only men who lose interest in relationships. Read more...