Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


McCaw earns IRB award treble

01 December 2010, 22:43

Dublin - New Zealand captain Richie McCaw became the first player to win the International Rugby Board's player of the year award three times after receiving the 2010 edition of the prize on Wednesday.

The 29-year-old flanker led an all All Black clean sweep of the major prizes with Tri-Nations champions New Zealand, beaten just once in 2010, named team of the year and Graham Henry coach of the year for a record fourth time.

Henry had previously been named IRB coach of the year in 2005, 2006 and 2008 and New Zealand were named team of the year for the fourth time in six years.

McCaw, last year's winner and also player of the year in 2005, saw off competition for the 2010 player of the year award from team-mate Mils Muliaina, South Africa's Victor Matfield, Imanol Harinordoquy from France and rising Australia stars David Pocock and Kurtley Beale.

But it was McCaw, who led New Zealand to 13 wins from 14 matches in 2010, who got the nod from an awards panel chaired by Australia great John Eales.

"This award is very special but wouldn't happen without an exceptional team who are good mates, and that's something I am equally proud of," McCaw said.

Henry added: "I am very proud to be awarded this honour again. The award reflects the hard work of the team, and I am delighted the All Blacks have also been named IRB team of the year."

He also paid tribute to McCaw, the only repeat winner of the IRB player of the year award since its inception in 2001.

"Richie McCaw is a phenomenal captain. He just gets better and better the more he does it and the team now is a very experienced side with him and Mils on 94 caps each, and nine players in the side with more than 50 caps."

Eales, who led an awards panel made up of former internationals with more than 500 Test caps between them, said: "Rugby is fortunate to have a player and person of the calibre of Richie McCaw.

"He is an outstanding captain, a world-class player and a role model for our sport. In winning the award three times, Richie has truly cemented his place right up there amongst some of the greats."

IRB chairman Bernard Lapasset added: "It has been a compelling year of international rugby as we count down to what promises to be a special Rugby World Cup 2011 in New Zealand."

Previous Winners of the IRB Player of the Year Award:

2009 - Richie McCaw (NZL)

2008 - Shane Williams (WAL)

2007 - Bryan Habana (RSA)

2006 - Richie McCaw (NZL)

2005 - Dan Carter (NZL)

2004 - Schalk Burger (RSA)

2003 - Jonny Wilkinson (ENG)

2002 - Fabien Galthie (FRA)

2001 - Keith Wood (IRL)

Previous Winners of IRB Team of the Year Award:

2009 - South Africa

2008 - New Zealand

2007 - South Africa

2006 - New Zealand

2005 - New Zealand

2004 - South Africa

2003 - England

2002 - France

2001 - Australia

Previous Winners of IRB Coach of the Year Award:

2009 - Declan Kidney (IRL)

2008 - Graham Henry (NZL)

2007 - Jake White (RSA)

2006 - Graham Henry (NZL)

2005 - Graham Henry (NZL)

2004 - Jake White (RSA)

2003 - Clive Woodward (ENG)

2002 - Bernard Laporte (FRA)

2001 - Rod Macqueen (AUS)



Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Read more from our Users

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Man who attacked US Embassy a 24 ...

A man who attacked the US Embassy in Nairobi was a 24 year old from Wajir County. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
US Embassy to remain closed Frida...

The US Embassy in Nairobi will remain closed Friday following a terror attack on it Thursday. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Leave ODM if you are unhappy, Rai...

Leave ODM if you are not happy, Raila Odinga tells Senator. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Former Assistant Minister joins J...

A former Assistant Minister has quit PNU and joined the Jubilee Party. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
DP Ruto intervenes as Kerio Valle...

DP William Ruto will visit Kerio Valley to try solve never-ending clashes between local residents. Read more...

Submitted by
Wilson Ochieng
ODM MP chased down by angry Kibra...

Kibra MP Ken Okoth had a hard time in his constituency after angry youth pelted him with stones. Read more...