Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


Gatlin shortlisted for athlete of the year award

03 October 2014, 20:54

Monaco - American sprinter Justin Gatlin, undefeated in all of his races this season, has been shortlisted for the 2014 World Athlete of the Year award, the IAAF announced on Friday.

Gatlin, the 2004 Olympic 100m gold medallist and double sprint world champion in 2005 before serving a 2006-10 doping ban, belied his 32 years during an incredible season.

Also read: Yego hopes to inspire athletes

French athletes Renaud Lavillenie and Yohann Diniz were also among the ten male athletes shortlisted along with Kenyan Dennis Kipruto Kimetto, after all three broke world records this season.

Olympic pole vault champion Lavillenie broke the 21-year world record of Serguei Bubka with a 6.16m clearance in February at Donetsk watched by the Ukrainian legend.

Diniz set a new mark in the 50km walk on his way to the European title in Zurich, while Kimetto set a new world record in the Berlin Marathon last month.

Poland's Anita Wlodarczyk, who reclaimed the world hammer record (79.58m) and Ethiopian Genzebe Dibaba, holder of the world indoor records over 1500m and 3000m, made the 10-woman shortlist.

Voting will take place until October 16 for athletes, federations and the media with the IAAF ruling council making the final decision from a final shortlist of three candidates on November 21.


Nigel Amos (BOT)

Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT)

Jairus Kipchoge Birech (KEN)

Bohdan Bondarenko (UKR)

Yohann Diniz (FRA)

Justin Gatlin USA)

Robert Harting(GER)

Dennis Kipruto Kimetto(KEN)

Renaud Lavillenie(FRA)

LaShawn Merritt(USA)


Valerie Adams(NZL)

Genzebe Dibaba(ETH)

Dawn Harper Nelson (USA)

Caterine Ibarguen (COL)

Francena McCorory (USA)

Sandra Perkovic (CRO)

Dafne Schippers(NED)

Kaliese Spencer (JAM)

Barbora Spotakova (CZE)

Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)



WRAP: English Premiership

21 October 2016, 19:13

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Read more from our Users

Submitted by
Wilson Ochieng
Apologise for attack on Auditor G...

Apologise for attack on Auditor General, President Uhuru Kenyatta is told by Kisumu Senator Anyang Nyong'o. Read more...

Submitted by
Wilson Ochieng
Quit if you can't fight corruptio...

An MP has told President Uhuru Kenyatta to quit office if he cannot fight corruption. Read more...

Submitted by
Wilson Ochieng
Investigate Uhuru, Ruto for corru...

Investigate President Uhuru Kenyatta and DP William Ruto's offices over corruption, CORD leader Raila Odinga has said. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Its a 1 horse race to State House...

Its a 1 horse race to State House, DP William Ruto has mocked the CORD Coalition. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Enjoy your time left in power, We...

CORD Co Principal Moses Wetangu'la has told the Jubilee Coalition to enjoy its last few months in power before it is voted out in the 2017 elections. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Stop hiding in State House and sa...

ODM MP's have called on President Uhuru Kenyatta to release drought aid and to stop sitting on public funds. Read more...