Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


Kenya @50 - A timeline of major events since independence

12 December 2013, 07:59

Nairobi - Here is a compilation of key dates in Kenya since it won independence in 1963.

December 12, 1963: Kenya, under British administration since 1895, gains independence following the Mau Mau insurrection that left at least 10,000 people dead, with some estimates far higher.

October 10, 1978: Daniel arap Moi is proclaimed president following the death of Jomo Kenyatta, Kenya's first head of state, and begins a long, iron-fisted rule.

June 9, 1982: Kenya is officially declared a one-party state.

August 1, 1982: Air force pilots stage a coup, swiftly suppressed by Moi loyalists. Several hundred people, soldiers and civilians, were killed in the abortive overthrow and ensuing crackdown.

February-July, 1990: Kenya is rocked by violent demonstrations, rioting, and arrests as the opposition pushes for a multi-party system, a goal achieved a year later.

December 29, 1992: Moi is elected president in a multi-party poll, owing to deep divisions among opposition figures.

The vote is marred by violence between Moi's Kalenjin tribe and the Kikuyu tribe to which Kenyatta and much of the independence-era elite belonged. Hundreds are killed.

August 7, 1998: An attack against the US embassy in Nairobi kills 213 people and wounds 5,000, the same day as an attack against the US embassy in neighbouring Tanzania.

December 27, 2002: Mwai Kibaki wins a presidential election with 62.2 percent of the vote and an opposition coalition takes a large majority of seats in parliament.

December 27, 2007: Kibaki is proclaimed winner again but his challenger Raila Odinga says the results were rigged. Clashes in the following weeks kill more than 1,100 people and force hundreds of thousands from their homes.

February 28, 2008: An internationally-brokered power-sharing agreement is signed under which Kibaki keeps his job and Odinga becomes prime minister.

August 27, 2010: A new constitution is adopted after it was overwhelmingly endorsed in a national referendum, introducing reforms aimed at averting any repeat of the violence that followed the 2007 polls.

April 9, 2013: Uhuru Kenyatta, Jomo's son, is sworn in as president despite charges of crimes against humanity by the International Criminal Court (ICC) over the 2007-2008 violence.

September 21, 2013: Gunmen storm Westgate mall and dig in for a days-long siege, killing at least 67 people. The Al Qaeda-linked Al Shabaab group claims the attack as retaliation for KDF's involvement in Somalia.



Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Read more from our Users

Submitted by
Shakila Alivitsa
Helping you find the type of man ...

To put it simply, you can’t go looking for fish in a meat market; you have to go to a fish market. Read more...

Submitted by
Wilson Ochieng
Mudavadi set for 2 month long wes...

Musalia Mudavadi is set for western Kenya campaigns.

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
I need a miracle to win in 2017, ...

An MP says that he needs a miracle to win the 2017 elections but has not given up on victory despite the odds being against him. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Raila ungrateful for my help, MP ...

An MP says that he made ODM famous in Meru and has accused the party of ungratefulness despite his hard work. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
I'm ready for by-election today, ...

I'm ready for a by election, an angry ODM rebel MP tells Raila Odinga. Read more...

Submitted by
William Korir
ODM kicks 6 MPs out of Parliament...

ODM has kicked 6 rebel members out of house committees. Read more...