Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


MyNews24 is a user-generated section of News24 Kenya. The stories here come from users.

Latest Badges:

List of officials named in corruption allegations

28 March 2015, 10:02 William Korir

Nairobi - A number of well known and high ranking public officials have been urged to resign from office and allow investigations over corrupt deals. Just who are they?

The list of shame as some have chosen to call it, is set to be officially released to the public next week after it was handed over to parliament in the name of an anti corruption report from the Ethics and Anti Corruption Commission EACC.

President Uhuru Kenyatta has asked those named in the report to resign to show their willingness to fight corruption until they are cleared by the EACC.

But just who are some of the officials?

Cabinet Secretaries

CS's mentioned in the report include the already well mentioned Felix Koskei (Agriculture), Eng. Michael Kamau (Transport and Roads), Charity Ngilu (Land, Housing and Urban Development) and Davis Chirchir (Energy and Petroleum).

Senior Gov't officials

Principal Secretaries Mutea Iringo and Secretary to the cabinet Francis Kimemia have also been mentioned in the report.


A number of Governors have also been mentioned, including Council of Governors chairman Isaac Ruto (Bomet), Evans Kidero (Nairobi), Alfred Mutua (Machakos), Cyrian Awiti (Homabay), Peter Munya (Meru) and Hassan Joho (Mombasa).

Governors though have said that they will not resign as they are elected and not appointed public officers.


Senators James Orengo (Siaya) and  Johnstone Muthama (Machakos) are the only members of the Senate in the list of shame. Orengo has already declared a willingness to resign.


MPs named are Alfred Keter (Nandi Hills) Richard Onyonka (Kitutu Chache South), Jimmy Angwenyi (Kitutu Chache North, John Serut (Mt Elgon) and Sanjeev Birdi (Nominated).

Keter and Birdi are the most recent entrants into the list, having been embroiled in the weigh bridge saga in Gilgil last month, after being caught on camera trying to have a lorry illegally released from impound.

All members of the Parliamentary Accounts Committee have also been told to step aside over their alleged links to corruption. They include Ababu Namwamba (Budalangi) and Cecily Mbarire (Runyenjes) amongst others.

State corporations

Geothermal Development Corporation MD Silas Simiyu is the only current parastatal boss mentioned on the list.

Question is, will they resign?

For the latest on national news, politics, sport, entertainment and more follow us on Twitter and like our Facebook page!

- MyNews24

Disclaimer: All articles and letters published on MyNews24 have been independently written by members of News24's community. The views of users published on News24 are therefore their own and do not necessarily represent the views of News24. News24 editors also reserve the right to edit or delete any and all comments received.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Read more from our Users

Submitted by
Wilson Ochieng
DP Ruto accuses Raila of selling ...

DP Wiliam Ruto has castigated Raila Odinga for seeking western support to fund his 2017 election bid. Read more...

Submitted by
William Korir
Peter Kenneth announces Uhuru 201...

Peter Kenneth has announced that he will support President Uhuru Kenyatta in the 2017 elections. Read more...

Submitted by
Wilon Ochieng
Labour Party to dump both Jubilee...

The Labour Party of Kenya is likely to avoid supportoing both the CORD and Jubilee factions during the 2017 General Elections. Read more...

Submitted by
William Korir
Ukambani MP quits Jubilee, to run...

An Ukambani MP has quit the Jubilee Party, citing voter apathy as his reason behind leaving the ruling coalition. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Government launches probe into Po...

The government has launched an inquiry into the circumstances that could have led to two National Police Service helicopter accidents in August and September this year. Read more...

Submitted by
Wilwon Ochieng
Deputy Governor's ally found with...

The EACC has recovered KES 2 million in fake currency from a close ally of Deputy Governor for Tharaka Nithi Eliud Mati. Read more...