Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


Rosberg makes his pole hat-trick

27 May 2013, 09:53

Monaco - Nico Rosberg scorched to his third successive Formula 1 pole start with team mate Lewis Hamilton completing a front row lockout for Mercedes at the Monaco GP.

The pole was the fourth in a row for Mercedes but the shine was taken off their qualifying glory each time as they faded during the following race.

Red Bull's triple World champion Sebastian Vettel qualified third in a damp session with Australian team mate and 2012 winner Mark Webber alongside.

Title contender Kimi Raikkonen, four points behind Vettel after five races, starts fifth with Ferrari's Fernando Alonso sixth place.

Rosberg' qualifying time was 1min13.876 with team mate' Hamilton a tenth slower on 1min13.967 and Vettel third but incredibly close to Hamilton onn 1min13.980.

Final qualifying for the 2013 Monaco F1 GP
1 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min13.876
2 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1min13.967
3 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min13.980
4 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 1min14.181
5 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 1min14.822
6 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min14.824
7 Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 1min15.138
8 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 1min15.383
9 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min15.647
10 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min15.703

Second qualifying session at 2013 Monaco F1 GP
1 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min15.988
2 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 1min16.040
3 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min16.135
4 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1min16.265
5 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min16.510
6 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 1min17.261
7 Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull 1min17.322
8 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min17.420
9 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min17.623
10 Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 1min17.748

11 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber 1min18.331
12 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min18.344
13 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min18.603
14 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 1min19.077
15 Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham 1min19.408
16 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min21.6882013

Monaco qualifying session 1
1 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1min23.452
2 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 1min23.699
3 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min23.712
4 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus -1min3.738
5 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min23.744
6 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1min23.779
7 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min24.243
8 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min24.620
9 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 1min24.681
10 Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 1min24.682
11 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 1min24.852
12 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 1min25.108
13 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 1min25.352
14 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber - Ferrari 1min25.547
15 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus - Renault 1min25.835
16 Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham 1min26.095

17 Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 1min26.322
18 Charles Pic (France) Caterham 1min26.633
19 Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber 1min26.917
20 Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia 1min27.303
21 Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia No time
22 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari No time

- Wheels24


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Read more from our Users

Submitted by
Wilson Ochieng
Apologise for attack on Auditor G...

Apologise for attack on Auditor General, President Uhuru Kenyatta is told by Kisumu Senator Anyang Nyong'o. Read more...

Submitted by
Wilson Ochieng
Quit if you can't fight corruptio...

An MP has told President Uhuru Kenyatta to quit office if he cannot fight corruption. Read more...

Submitted by
Wilson Ochieng
Investigate Uhuru, Ruto for corru...

Investigate President Uhuru Kenyatta and DP William Ruto's offices over corruption, CORD leader Raila Odinga has said. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Its a 1 horse race to State House...

Its a 1 horse race to State House, DP William Ruto has mocked the CORD Coalition. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Enjoy your time left in power, We...

CORD Co Principal Moses Wetangu'la has told the Jubilee Coalition to enjoy its last few months in power before it is voted out in the 2017 elections. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Stop hiding in State House and sa...

ODM MP's have called on President Uhuru Kenyatta to release drought aid and to stop sitting on public funds. Read more...