Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


2014 Spanish F1 GP: 1-2 again for Mercs

12 May 2014, 19:15 ALAN BALDWIN

  • Hamilton takes fourth win in a row
  • Briton wrests title lead from Rosberg
  • Merc make it five wins in five races

BARCELONA, Spain - Lewis Hamilton won the 2014 Spanish Formula 1 GP on Sunday (May 11) for Mercedes,  his fourth victory in a row, to wrest the Drivers' championship lead from "gutted" team mate Nico Rosberg.

In what was also the fourth successive Mercedes 12 and fifth win in five races for the dominant constructor, Hamilton took the chequered flag a mere 0.6sec ahead of his rival.

In a nail-biting finish to what had been a largely uneventful race Rosberg piled pressure on Hamilton by slashing the Briton's lead over the last six laps and looming ominously in his mirrors.


Hamilton, who now has 100 points to Rosberg's 97 after his 26th career victory and leads the standings for the first time since 2012 when he was at McLaren, sounded increasingly anxious in radio traffic but held on for his first win in Spain.

"I wasn't fast enough really today, Nico was quicker," the 2008 champion said during the podium interview. "Fortunately I was able to keep him behind."

Rosberg, who declared himself "a bit gutted" to finish second again and whose subdued body language alongside Hamilton on the podium more than backed that up, felt he would have got past with one more lap.

"Lewis did a great job the whole weekend, just that little bit ahead," added the German ruefully.

Daniel Ricciardo was third for 2013 champion team Red Bull with the first podium finish of his F1 career after being stripped of his second place for a fuel irregularity in his home season-opener in Melbourne in March.

"We did not have the pace on Mercedes... it is really nice to be on the podium and I am sure I will get to keep it this time," said the smiling Australian, who had started third. "A lonely third was not a bad result in the end."


His quadruple F1 champion team mate Sebastian Vettel, who started 15th after a five-place grid penalty for a gearbox change, ended a weekend of setbacks with a strong fourth. He arrived at the first European race of the season with a different chassis but Red Bull remained an age away from Mercedes.

Ricciardo, as the best of the rest, crossed the line a huge 48.3sec behind Rosberg with Mercedes again in a class of its own and lapping all but four cars.

Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen was one of those passed by Hamilton, finishing seventh and just behind Spanish team mate Fernando Alonso - last year's winner - in sixth. Finland's Valtteri Bottas took fifth for Williams; Brazilian team mate Felipe Massa sank from ninth at the start to 13th at the finish.

Romain Grosjean handed Lotus its first points of the season with eighth, ahead of Force India's Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg in ninth and 10th respectively.

Only two drivers retired: Toro Rosso's Jean-Eric Vergne and Caterham's Kamui Kobayashi, in a 66-lap race that testified to the surprising reliability of the cars in the new V6 hybrid/turbo era.

Pastor Maldonado, who crashed in qualifying and started last for Lotus, was handed a five-second stop/go penalty for causing a collision with Caterham's Marcus Ericsson.

Result from the 2014 Spanish F1 GP
1 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1hr41mn05.155
2 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes +00:00.636
3 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull (Renault) +00:49.014
4 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull (Renault +01:16.702
5 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams (Mercedes) +01:19.293
6 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari +01:27.743
7 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari +1 lap
8 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus (Renault) +1 lap
9 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India (Mercedes +1 lap
10 Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Force India (Mercedes) +1 lap
11 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren +1 lap
12 Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren +1 lap
13 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams (Mercedes) +1 lap
14 Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso (Renault) +1 lap
15 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus (Renault) +1 lap
16 Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber (Ferrari) +1 lap
17 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Sauber (Ferrari) +1 lap
18 Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia (Ferrari) +2 laps
19 Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia (Ferrari) +2 laps
20 Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Caterham (Renault) +2 laps
Retired Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Caterham (Renault) +32 laps
Retired Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso (Renault) +42 laps

Fastest Lap: Sebastian Vettel, 1min28.918, lap 55

Drivers’ and Constructors points after the 2014 Spanish F GP

1 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 100
2 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 97
3 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 49
4 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 45
5 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 39
6 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 37
7 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 34
8 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 23
9 Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren 20
10. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India 20
11 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 17
12 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams 12
13 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 4
14 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 4
15 Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso 4
16 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Sauber 0
17 Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber 0
18 Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia 0
19 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Caterham 0
20 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus 0
21 Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Caterham 0
22 Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia 0

1 Mercedes 197
2 Red Bull 84
3 Ferrari 66
4 Force India 57
5 Williams 46
6 McLaren 43
7 Toro Rosso 8
8 Lotus 4
9 Sauber 0
10 Marussia 0
11 Caterham 0

Qualifying times
Third practice
Second practice
First practice

- Reuters

Tags formula 1

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Read more from our Users

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Leave ODM if you are unhappy, Rai...

Leave ODM if you are not happy, Raila Odinga tells Senator. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
Former Assistant Minister joins J...

A former Assistant Minister has quit PNU and joined the Jubilee Party. Read more...

Submitted by
Victor Tinto
DP Ruto intervenes as Kerio Valle...

DP William Ruto will visit Kerio Valley to try solve never-ending clashes between local residents. Read more...

Submitted by
Wilson Ochieng
ODM MP chased down by angry Kibra...

Kibra MP Ken Okoth had a hard time in his constituency after angry youth pelted him with stones. Read more...

Submitted by
Wilson Ochieng
Prepare for DP Ruto fight in 2022...

An MP has warned that the Kalenjin Community will not stand back and watch as DP Ruto is duped ahead of the 2022 polls. Read more...

Submitted by
William Korir
Be careful who you deal with, DP ...

Watch out for your political future, DP William Ruto has been warned. Read more...